الأبحاث والصون

منذ بداية إنشاء الحديقة، ونحن نعمل بإستمرار لتوثيق وتجميع البيانات المتعلقة بالنباتات والبيئات التي تنمو بها، ونقوم بشكل دائم ببناء قاعدة المعلومات النباتية من أجل فهم أكبر لعلم النبات، ويبقى هناك الكثير لإستكشافه ومعرفته فيما يخص الأنواع المستوطنة وبيئاتها والأبحاث التي تزيد من معرفتنا وتسعة مداركنا.

بالإضافة إلى سعي الحديقة أن تجعلها مزار للسياحة والاستمتاع، نقوم أيضا بإجراء أبحاث نباتية ومشاريع كثيرة تشمل:

·         الأبحاث المتعلقة بالإستخدامات المحلية للنباتات

·         أبحاث متعلقة بدورة حياة النباتات والعوامل المؤثرة على التزهير وتكوين الثمار

·         أبحاث الغطاء النباتي والأنواع النباتية

·         أبحاث الصون ووضع النباتات

·         أبحاث نمو البذور

وتعتبر حديقة النباتات والأشجار العمانية مركز للباحثين في مجال علوم النبات في السلطنة والدول الأخرى مع وجود مرافق قائمة كالمستحفظ النباتي وبنك البذور والمشاتل والتي بدورها توفر المكان الملائم لإجراء الأبحاث القيمة وتوثيق المعلومات. وفي الوقت الحالي نقوم بشكل دائم بتوفير العينات النباتية والمعلومات والنصح للطلبة والباحثين خصوصا فيما يخص النباتات العمانية والعربية كون الحديقة تحوي على أكبر مجموعة موثقة للنباتات العربية في  العالم.

تشكل حديقة النباتات والأشجار العمانية عنصر أساسي من استجابة السلطنة للإستراتيجية الدولية لصون النباتات (GSPC)، لذلك نستند كثيرا على أهداف الإستراتيجية في تسيير أنشطتنا.

وتعتبر الحديقة مركزا للصون خارج الموئل الطبيعي للنباتات على شكل بنك للبذور، واستزراع النباتات المستوطنة و المستحفظ النباتي. إن البيانات الأساسية التي نقوم بتجميعها وتوثيقها بشكل مستمر ستكون الأساس في عمل خارطة طريق وخطة عمل لصون النباتات المهددة والمعرضة لخطر الإنقراض في السلطنة.

OBG

Oman Botanic Garden
A JOURNEY THROUGH THE HEART OF OMAN

Research & Conservation

Ever since the first research trip soon after the initiation of the garden, the Oman Botanic Garden team has continuously collected data and built upon the existing and available botanical information to further understand plant sciences.  There is still much to discover about the Omani plants and their habitats, with many exciting research topics on the horizon.

In addition to working to build and open the garden for the enjoyment of the public, the Oman Botanic Garden team is currently working on a variety of research projects, including: 

·         Ethnobotanical research (traditional uses of plants)

·         Phenological research (to study the life cycle of plants, including flowering times in the wild)

·         Research on flora and vegetation

·         Research on the conservation status of plants

·         Seed germination research

Oman Botanic Garden is a base for researchers from Oman and other countries, with the herbarium, seed bank and native plant nurseries providing the setting and data for valuable research projects.  We continue to provide information and plant samples for students and researchers, since the Oman Botanic Garden nursery contains the largest documented Arabian plants collection in the world. We have also provided sites for vegetation assessments for school students.

Oman Botanic Garden forms a key part of the Sultanate’s response to the Global Strategy for Plant Conservation (GSPC), and thus we conduct our work in accordance with its objectives.

The project is considered to be an ex-situ (away from the wild locations) collection of the native flora in the forms of seed banking, propagation and the herbarium. The baseline data and field observations that we are actively collecting and documenting will allow us to develop conservation action plans for the threatened plant species of Oman.

 

OBG